JLP retakes the Trelawny Parish Council from the PNP

The Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) has retaken the Trelawny Parish Council from the People’s National Party (PNP). The JLP won the council by 6-3. The JLP last held the council from 2003-2012. In 2012, the PNP took over after an island-wide sweep of the councils.

The score from Northern Trelawny was 3-2 in favour of the JLP and from Southern Trelawny, it was 3-1 also in favour of the JLP.

JLP Won Popular Votes

The JLP also won the popular vote in the parish with 11,539 votes to the PNP’s 8,559 votes. In North Trelawny, the JLP’s tally was 8,559, whilst the PNP’s popular votes was 5,615. In South Trelawny, the JLP tallied 5,143 to the PNP’s 2,944.

There Will Be A JLP Mayor

This means that there will be a JLP Mayor of Falmouth. The winning Councillors will vote for a Mayor. There are two former JLP Mayors who were elected today. They are Jonathan ‘Fred’ Bartley from Wakefield Division and Colin Gager from the Warsop Division. Bartley served as Mayor from 2003-2007. Bartley was voted out by his compatriots in 2007 and Gager was voted in.

It is expected that current Deputy Mayor Gager may once again be given the nod again as Mayor of Falmouth.

Major Casualty

One notable casualty is Lloyd Gillings of the PNP in the Albert Town Division who fell to Nicole Nugent. Gillings was a former JLP Deputy Mayor from 2007, who switched allegiance to the PNP.

Official Results

Courtesy of the Gleaner:





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here