usain-bolt-shelly-ann-fraser-pryce jamaica
Photo via Island Mix

Double defending champions in the 100m and 200m, Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, will head a 53-member strong team to the World Championships 2015 that will take place at the Bird’s Nest Stadium in Beijing, starting on August 22.

This is the biggest team for the Jamaicans in the history of the World Championships, 2 more than the 51 that made it to the last championships in Daegu 2011.

Bolt and Fraser-Pryce will both attempt the double (100m and 200m). Earlier in the season, Fraser-Pryce had announced her intention to only compete in the 100m, but she is in such spanking form in that event, that she has decided to go for the double.

The Jamaican team also boasts the most diverse spread of representation in a national team at this level, with three men – Jason Morgan, Federick Dacres and Chad Wright – expected to line up in the discus event.

American-born Aisha Praught, whose story we told a few days ago on Falmouth News, will compete for the green, gold and black in the 3000 metres steeplechase.

Simoya Campbell and Natoya Goule will contest the women’s 800m with Danniel Thomas listed for the women’s discus and Salcia Slack expected to compete in the Heptathlon.


Here is the full squad list, including officials, followed by the events list:


1. Nickel Ashmeade
2. Kemar Bailey Cole
3. Asafa Powell
4. Usain Bolt
5. Julian Forte
6. Warren Weir
7. Peter Matthews
8.Rusheen McDonald
9. Javon Francis
10. Edino Steel
11. Kemoy Campbell
12. Omar McCloud
13. Hansle Parchment
14. Roxroy Cato
15. Leaford Green
16. Annsert Whyte
17. Damar Forbes
18. O’Dayne Richards
19. Fredrick Dacres
20. Jason Morgan
21. Chad Wright
22. Tyquendo Tracey
23. Rusheed Dwyer
24. Jonia McDonald
25. Dane Hyatt
26. Nesta Carter
27. Andrew Riley

1. Veronica Campbell-Brown
2. Shelly-ann Fraser Pryce
3. Natasha Morrison
4. Sherone Simpson
5. Elaine Thompson
6. Christine Day
7. Shericka Jackson
8. Stephenie-Ann McPherson
9. Novlene Williams-Mills
10. Simoya Campbell
11. Natoya Goule
12. Aisha Praught
13. Kimberly Laing
14. Danielle Williams
15. Shermaine Williams
16. Janieve Russell
17. Kaliese Spencer
18. Shevon Stoddart
19 Ristananna Tracey
20. Shanieka Thomas
21. Kimberly Williams
22. Danniel Thomas
23. Salcia Slack
24. Kerron Stewart
25. Chrisann Gordon
26. Anastasia Leroy

Team Leader Ludlow Watts
Assistant Dave Myrie
Assistant Heleen Francis
Technical Leader Maurice Wilson
Head Coach Michael Clarke



 Nickel Ashmeade, Kemar Bailey-Cole, Usain Bolt, Asafa Powell
200m: Nickel Ashmeade, Usain Bolt, Rasheed Dwyer, Julian Forte, Warren Weir
400m: Javon Francis, Peter Matthews, Rusheen McDonald, Edino Steele
5000m: Kemoy Campbell
110m hurdles: Omar McLeod, Hansle Parchment, Andrew Riley
400m hurdles: Roxroy Cato, Leford Green, Annsert Whyte
Long jump: Damar Forbes
Shot put: O’Dayne Richards
Discus: Fedrick Dacres, Jason Morgan, Chad Wright
4x100m: Nickel Ashmeade, Kemar Bailey-Cole, Usain Bolt, Nesta Carter, Asafa Powell, Tyquendo Tracey
4x400m: Javon Francis, Dane Hyatt, Peter Matthews, Jonia McDonald, Rusheen McDonald, Edino Steele

 Veronica Campbell-Brown, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Natasha Morrison, Sherone Simpson
200m: Veronica Campbell-Brown, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Sherone Simpson, Elaine Thompson
400m: Christine Day, Shericka Jackson, Stephenie-Ann McPherson, Novlene Williams-Mills
800m: Simoya Campbell, Natoya Goule
1500m: Aisha Praught
3000m steeplechase: Aisha Praught
100m hurdles: Kimberly Laing, Danielle Williams, Shermaine Williams
400m hurdles: Janieve Russell, Kaliese Spencer, Shevon Stoddart, Ristananna Tracey
Triple jump: Shanieka Thomas, Kimberly Williams
Shot put: Danniel Thomas
Heptathlon: Salcia Slack
4x100m: Veronica Campbell-Brown, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Natasha Morrison, Sherone Simpson, Kerron Stewart, Elaine Thompson
4x400m: Christine Day, Chrisann Gordon, Shericka Jackson, Anastasia Le-Roy, Stephenie-Ann McPherson, Novlene Williams-Mills


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here